top of page

Being in an pandemic overseas

Updated: Apr 20, 2020

Just a TW, I will be covering Covid19 and its effects, so please progress with caution. I hope you all are safe and well and I give my love.


In January, I moved over to sunny Brisbane, Australia, to pursue my education and career in musical theatre. While I am staying over here, the outbreak of COVID 19 has taken place, and like many Aussies, I have gone through the stages of the growing pandemic. It has undoubtedly been an experience. Being a NZer living in Aus during this trying time has been something entirely new to me. There is no doubt that I have had my struggles and tears, but I know everyone around the world is feeling like this. It is hard to keep track of the positives when the world is shrouded in negatives. Not that I am saying to turn a blind eye. Yet, if we give in to this mindset, I know for me, we will give in to our mind and its ever-confusing thoughts and worries.


Being apart from my family and parents, especially my elders in my family, has been a nerve-wracking experience. I was afraid that contact would be limited, nearly hopping on the last flight to NZ before lock down shut me out for the remainder of the crisis. Because what if I was stuck there? Would it mean taking a step backwards in my career? COVID has already caused so much loss, yet I was inspired by the brave souls at our front who are fighting the virus and decided I would stay and do the best I could with the support I have here in Brisbane.


So, while I am undoubtedly worried for my brothers, my parents, and Whanau in NZ, I know that they are only a phone, a text, just an email away. I have set up regular meetings with my parents and group chats within my family in NZ so that I can stay in touch and make sure everyone is safe and healthy. It’s the only thing I can do. For me, keeping myself busy doing homework, assignments, this blog, drawing, puzzles and working out is keeping my sanity; because I refuse to give up in this time. I hope everyone reading this knows they are supported and loved by me and I hope everyone is staying safe and indoors. Let's fight this together.

Eleanor




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page